Tuesday, April 7, 2009

Unblogged

Days can seem to fly by during these simple, often monotonous times. Sometimes time can seem to pass so fast, while other times I just don't feel like writing down current events in my humble daily life, so I fail to blog them on time.

But here, now, I'm gonna write down two simple "unblogged" events that happened in two consecutive days.

Saturday. April 4th.

We went for a swim. At a swimming pool resort nearby.
Finally!
...I thought.
A chance to swim and frolic under the water, under the sun. To stay for as long as I want, and as long as I can in the water. And it would be a great, cool, fun exercise.

Friday night, our family was invited by the kind and thoughtful family of my elder cousin's boyfriend. While at first I was reluctant and shy to join them in what I was thinking was a family get-together for them, I also was happy that they were inviting us to join. So after some talk, it was finalized we were going with them, but our grandma wouldn't want to go with us. So only the three of us (me, my elder cousin and her younger brother) would be going with them for the swimming day.

So Saturday came..
I slept at 3:30 in the morning, trying to get some good internet connection (which I luckily got) to access well my various accounts on the internet, particularly e-mail. I had to do it to be able to finish some important things, not to mention effectively and quickly.

These past few days (today included) we've been having annoyingly something that seems like the slowest internet connection (of course during wake-up hours) ever. Only it's showing little improvement now that I hope would continue.

And then we woke up at the scheduled time of 6 o'clock so we could leave by 7. So I only got barely 3 hours of sleep..it was so hard to get up! My tummy was unwell and my head was spinning.
What did I do to myself?
But I got up though. I wouldn't want that to rob me of all the fun that awaits me.

We arrived at the location.
After some time, we plunged into the pool. I'm swimming!
We swam and swam and swam that day. We ate a lot of food, we laughed, we had so much fun. And I wouldn't forget the excitement of taking the slide. That was exhilarating! I don't know how many times I went up that very high staircase to get on the speedy slide. After a slide, I'd go up again to slide again, and again and again. I slid that day maybe about 15 times. It was a whole lot of fun.

I got so tired at the end of the day. Not only that, I also got (tan-da-rarah!) sunburn...huh. I once mentioned on one of my posts that I wanted to go for a swim and stay as long as I want under the sun, and even get "skin burn" (wrong term!). Now I remember the line: "Be careful what you wish for, 'coz you just might get it." It just so hurt! I think I've put a liter of lotion on my skin since then. Good thing the burning pain is aleviating now after 3 days... but I still have it. More on my exposed shoulders. I'm cooked.

Well anyway, I really enjoyed swimming. With all of them. With the slide. Our close relatives were here at our home when we came. Like I said previously, they congratulated me in a so-proud-of-you way for the special academic award that I bagged. The fun continued. The food as well. That day was a blast.

The next day...

Sunday. April 5th.

First Sunday of the month, communion at church. Palm Sunday. Worship service as usual.

When we went home after the service, little did we know that a surprise awaited us.

And so we finally were home. The gate was unlocked, so we came in. I reached for the door and turned the door knob. It's hard. I twisted it again. But it just wouldn't open.
It's locked!

My grandma went home after church before us. We can't go home together because we often stay for a meeting of the young people at church after service. Granny has the key, but she wasn't around. No one was left inside the house too, because my younger cousin (who was usually there already playing computer games whenever we get home) left for a vacation just the previous day - when our close relatives left, he left with them. So me, my elder cousin and her boyfriend (who were becoming anxious already) waited for grandma, until we finally saw her coming. She left the house to buy something. We thought she has the key. But she said she doesn't!
We couldn't get in!

She said when she got home, she unlocked the house including the knob. When she left the house to buy something, she closed the door and left the unlocked padlock hooked on the gate so we could get in when we arrive.

But what she didn't know was when she opened the door the time she came from church with the key, she just opened it. Not unlock it. The key didn't (and really doesn't) turn the lock off on the kind of doorknob we have. So when she closed the door to leave the house again - thinking it's unlocked - the truth was she locked it again. This time, with the keys already inside the house.

We used almost every single flat and thin object we had, from cards to knives, to slide it through the thin opening to unlock the knob. We even disturbed the neighbor. But all of our attempts failed. The lock was just too tough! It took us 30 minutes until I got pissed off and started to disassemble the window, which is thankfully open! After we had made an opening, my cousin fit in and slowly moved her way in... and then she unlocked the door. Whoa! We finally are home. As in, inside it.

We fixed the opening we had made and made sure nothing was broken, especially something that would make it easier for thieves to get in.

So there you have it. Two days, two events. Bloggable yet unblogged... Well, that was before this post is published.

[Click]

No comments: